Home > Education > Creative, Talkative Students

Creative, Talkative Students

I actually hate telling students they can’t talk in class…especially if they are trying to clarify something they don’t understand with another student.

This post reminds me that disruptive behavior isn’t always related to bad qualities, but may also be a sign of creative impulse!

In my classes, since  most students don’t speak English natively, many of them need complete silence from their fellow students to be able to concentrate and understand.

But I wish that wasn’t the case. I’d prefer to let them multitask, listening to the lecture while also engaging with their classmates. It doesn’t bother me when they talk, as much as I think it bothers the other students.

Categories: Education
  1. farouk sani
    January 8, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    mr. kelcy you are the best lecturer i have ever come across, one thing i like about you is you teach us like how a father teach his children you just want us to understand. thank you very much sir you make me better.

    • Kelcy Hahn
      January 8, 2012 at 9:21 pm

      Thank you, Farouk. That’s very kind of you to say! I miss having you in my class.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

